1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Bottom Layer comes out "squiggly"

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by The1upLoop, Mar 13, 2015.

1. The1upLoop

The1upLoop New Member

For lack of a better word.

As you can see, the first layer or so tends to come out with a bit of a squiggle, and as shown in the side view, seems like it causes a bit of problems with the first couple layers adhering to each other.

I'm sure this is some simple setting that can be changed in the software, but I am BRAND new to 3D printers and wouldn't have any idea what setting that'd be. jiggly 2.jpg jiggly.jpg

2. Ben R

Ben R Active Member

you need some adjustments...
    start with...
    http://community.robo3d.com/index.php?threads/please-give-information.1007/
    http://community.robo3d.com/index.php?threads/visual-troubleshooting-guide.3017/
    http://community.robo3d.com/index.php?threads/read-me-my-robo-doesnt-auto-level-correctly-faq.4664/
    http://community.robo3d.com/index.php?threads/please-read-seasoning-and-an-oiler.3564/

Everybody's first print looks like that. A spool holder that is poorly printed. Not too horrible, but the 3rd link has some advise on how to get things going. Looks like you need to adjust both our extruder steps and initial print height/ check x axis for level.
    Let me know if you have any questions

3. The1upLoop

The1upLoop New Member

Many thanks, again. I had checked those links before, but my short term is horrible and from what I had remembered for some reason thought none of it really applied, but that whole "visible print lines" part seems like exactly whats up.

I'm always bad at remembering beginner forum etiquette. FWIW;
    Filament type: 1.75 PLA
    Extruding Temp: 210c
    Bed Temp: 70c
    Bed makeup: Heated bed only

That was the makeup for that particular print. Also basically everything else set to 0.3 (initial layer, 3 layers top and bottom).