1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Brand new to 3D printing - RoBo 3D R1+ - Multiple issues

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Perry, Dec 9, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Perry

Perry New Member

Hi, I am completely new to 3D printing, so please bear with me. I have tried to read up on these issues, but haven't had much luck finding solutions yet.

A little background: I received this 3D printer from a friend who just claimed "he could not get it to work" and he didn't have the time to figure it out. So, it's been used before, it's not like I just took it out of the box. I have scheduled a Skype meeting with Robo3D for next week, but I'd love to try to troubleshoot this on my own so that I can learn more about the equipment and software. I'm printing with PLA, made sure I'm using the V2 firmware, and am using MatterControl 1.6.

First issue: I first tried printing the simple configuration circle from the MatterControl software. The printer appears to be printing something other than the circle it was programed to print. This seems odd, but maybe it is stuck trying to print something that my friend tried printing previously? The only strange thing is that the printer does seem to follow the commands from the software, ie. sits idle until I tell it to start printing, it warms up properly, etc. There is no SD card inserted either, so I'm at a loss here.

Second issue: When the plate is moving back and forth, it often appears like it's shaking and makes loud noises. This could be from trying to print something other than the circle, but I'm not sure. The plate does move smoothly when I push it back and forth. I took a quick video, but I can't link to it since I'm a new member.

I'd appreciate any insight you may have.
    Thank you.

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member