1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Partially Solved Calibrating seems to be off on Y axis

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Mike Glass, Dec 31, 2014.

1. Mike Glass

Mike Glass Active Member

I noticed when the printer does calibration it does not stay within the square lines on the hotbed, I also notices that it prints up farther back on the bed not in the middle.

2. anmael

anmael New Member

i had the same problem, try turning with your hands the two metal rods that control the y-axis in the same direction until the holes on the bottom of both rods point in the same direction, then re-do the calibration through software...
    basically your y-axis is slanted right now.

Note: i am very new at this and just got my robo3d r1 yesterday, this was just my impression and my solution, there may be better ways

3. Mike Glass

Mike Glass Active Member

You are referring to the Z axis, I just got my printer this week also and had to adjust the bed as it was slanted, switches turned and wires that were not plugged into the ardrino board, but I am talking about the forward and back of the bed. I think I may have figured it out, I just powered it up and moved the belt on the bed to the most forward position.
    Kinda strange that the micro switch does not stop the bed from going to far and makes a horrible sound.

4. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

You need to check the Y belt drive. That could be a symptom that the belt as it moves back and forth in the Y travel is binding on one of the pulleys/pinions. For me this happened because the gear on the Y drive motor shaft was too low on the shaft and needed too be shifted up a fraction of an inch.