1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

e3Dv6 vs knockoff E3dV6

Discussion in 'Mods and Upgrades' started by Ben R, Mar 27, 2015.

1. Ben R

Ben R Active Member

SO, I am setting up dual extruders. to that end I bought two e3dv6 hotend assemblies.

One (A) I paid about 90 bucks for (delivered) the other (B) I paid $20 for.
    One could get into the legalities and IP of the thing.... I'm no lawyer so I will not involve myself with any of that, suffice to say that the E3DV6 is a public license of some sort and the innovation in this device is invisible to me. Its a tube with a heater on the end. Like all my other tubes with heaters.

As one could expect, there are bound to be differences, and there are.

A is the "universal with bowden extras" B is a bowden (universal it turns out) model

starting at the top

Dimensionally the same length wise (as close as I can measure)

A comes with a clip in bowden coupler. Hope it doesn't cause problems. I can't imagine finding another one.

B has a standard pneumatic hose fitting on the top. This increases its z height about 10mm over A. Potentially limiting.

The heat sinks are identical in form and finish, but not quite the same. the E3dV6 has a cone shaped chamber in the middle. B has a slightly wider cone. I believe inside these is supposed to be an empty chamber, but cannot see inside.

A difference that may be because of the style of A (universal vs other style) is B has the pneumatic fitting then a small hole for the filament then into the cone and out the bottom. It appears that A has a much larger opening below the bowden fitting. Inconsequential difference in smoothness of passing filament through. But I'm so curious as to what's on the other side of the hole in B i'm tempted to drill it out.

The heat breaks are NOT the same.

B has a much thicker shaft/throat. At least twice the diameter. Possibly the same part as would be machined for a 3mm filament?