1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

I'm making a Robo box....

Discussion in 'Projects' started by Samuel Shannon, Jun 14, 2016.

1. Samuel Shannon

Samuel Shannon New Member

So, to some this may seem a silly question. I'm not an engineer and I have not yet built my own 3d printer. I have had my R1 for a little over 2 years and I have a delta on the way. I work in the 3d printing industry doing QC and QA as a day job and I'm an avid diy'er by evening (and often long into the night lol). Right now I'm cad'ing a box to enclose my R1 to try to utilize some more difficult polymers than just pla (think like nylon and maybe something like ultem 1010 or 9085). As I was drawing the cad, I am wondering if I wanted to increase my build volume, would all I really need to do is get longer M8 smooth rods for X,Y, and Z, longer threaded rods for increased Z height and longer belts to account for the larger travel movement, larger area build platform, and update the max X, Y, Z area in firmware/software? Am I missing something or would this work?

I'm wanting to try to do something like a 15 inch cube for build volume.

#1 Samuel Shannon, Jun 14, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2016
  2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Geof and Samuel Shannon like this.
  3. Samuel Shannon

Cool, yeah, I'm looking to almost gut the Robo and have the electronics under a "Stage" that has ample airflow and the build space above similar to how the set up is now... just larger. It'll look something like the pic I am attaching.

Attached Files:

mark tomlinson likes this.
  4. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Good luck.
    Moved this to the PROJECTS sub-forum, you can update this as you go :)

5. daniel871

daniel871 Well-Known Member

Paging @donhuevo to repost the photo of his gutting/rebuilding of his Robo printer.