1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Is this a retraction issue?

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Eric Viglotti, Feb 19, 2018.

1. Eric Viglotti

Eric Viglotti Member

The attached seems to be happening on curved surfaces, some with PLA, more so with PETG. One picture I had the standard 1.5mm retraction and one I moved to 2.0mm retraction? Should I add more retraction, how far can I go with an R2? Or anyone seen something like this before? I can't seem to locate anything similar on the Simplify3D troubleshooting page. I'm using S3D and a Robo R2.

Thanks!

Attached Files:

2. WheresWaldo

WheresWaldo Volunteer ( ͠° ͟ʖ ͡°)
    Staff Member

Depends on where the issue is. If it is at the end of the line then you really need to use the Coast feature of S3D. What is the Coast setting?

3. Eric Viglotti

Eric Viglotti Member

Fascinating, I'm new to S3D, but now that I look at it, the attached preview in S3D actually shows me the exact marks it's going to make and indeed that lines up perfectly with the actual print (I drew a red box around one of them in the attached). One of the original photos was just 1.5mm retraction and no coasting, and the other was 2.0mm retraction and 0.3mm coasting. Honestly when I look at the two of them, the one with coasting/2.0 mm retraction only looks mildly better in just a few spots. Thanks!

Attached Files:

4. WheresWaldo

Staff Member

Increase the coasting maybe by a factor of two or three. Retraction usually only occurs before the hot end switches from printing to travel, the coasting will be before printing ends.

5. Eric Viglotti

Eric Viglotti Member

Very interesting stuff. Clearly more trial and error in my future, but like always any help is certainly welcomed to point me at the right trials for the trial and error.