1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Printer not extruding, how do I go about cleaning out the nozzle?

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Enkay, Feb 15, 2015.

1. Enkay

Enkay New Member

Hey everyone, I'm really new to 3D printing, the Robo is my first and I've only had it for about a week. It's been pretty good so far, but yesterday it just stopped extruding and I'm not sure how to go about removing parts (or what parts to remove) and then cleaning them. I assume it's an issue with the nozzle being clogged or similar, because when I try to push the filament through manually (by turning the big gear clockwise) it doesn't go through and the filament ends up with what looks like a little hole dug into it (it's hard to see, so I attached a shitty paint illustration). I figure this is probably caused by the wheel (don't know what it's called) turning but not being able to make the filament go anywhere, so it digs a hole in the filament. So basically, how do I remove and clean the hotend/nozzle/whatever it is I need to remove and clean now. Thanks in advance for the help.

P.S. I'm using PLA, and I did try upping the temperature to like 240C and getting it to extrude then, but it hasn't been successful. I also tried sticking a small metal guitar string through the hole to see if that could get rid of the blockage but while the guitar string did get through the hole it's still not extruding (stuck the string through the hole while the extruder was at 240 btw, if that makes a difference).

Attached Files:

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

3. mark tomlinson

Staff Member