1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Random oscillating on circles

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Bruce K, Oct 7, 2016.

1. Bruce K

Bruce K New Member

I'm new to 3d printing and Robo 3D R1 Plus. I've had the printer a little over a week now and have been getting great parts. After searching most places, and not finding a similar problem, here is my first question. When running circles, as small as .25" diameter to 2" diameter, sometimes it prints smooth and others it will oscillate or jerk the print head just on the outside or inside line. This leaves a rough edge on the part. It seems to be software.

2. Geof

Geof Volunteer Moderator
    Staff Member

Possibly a loose belt. Remember that we dont have deltas, circles wont be perfect but can look ok.

3. Bruce K

Bruce K New Member

Thanks for the reply. This is the first time using any forums, I'm so used to talking about problems or solutions, that getting my question out clearly is new to me. My issue is the perimeter lines are smooth and many times the first of 2 or 3 lines of the part are also smooth. Then the print head will slow the travel speed and seem to try to fill or follow a very small non circular movement. The belts and every thing look good. I had just finished a 5 hour print with 9ea .25"D holes and one 1"D hole. The part is 7" diameter and 1.5" tall. It ran perfect. I needed the 1" hole just a little larger, to fit a rod. I made a small sample drawing in 123d Design with a 1.05 hole through a 2" diameter by 1" tall disc. This is where the problem appeared.

4. Geof

Geof Volunteer Moderator
    Staff Member

That does sound like a odd toolpath created by the slicer. Which one do you use ? Can you share a photo of the defect ?

5. Geof

Geof Volunteer Moderator
    Staff Member

Oh and welcome ! Be sure to do an introduction on that section of the forum so you can be properly greeted and welcomed ! :)