1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Partially Solved X axis issue

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Stepper, May 29, 2017.

1. Stepper

Stepper New Member

Hello Forum,
    This is my first 3D printer and I am experience a problem from the start before I could print any object. I am a true beginner. It is the first time we use the printer. The Z and Y axes move as supposed which mean that the associated stepper motors work fine: I can move the bed back and forth (Y axis) and the extruder up and down (Z axis) from the control panel but the extruder does not move side to side at all (X axis). The X- and X+ in the control panel are both grey and nothing happens when I press them. When trying to print an object, the printer simply goes back and forth (bed moves back and forth) and everything gets printed on a blobby line...

What can I check? Is it possible that some wire is not connected or is connected incorrectly?

The stepper motor responsible for the X-axis is the one mounted with the extruder, correct? Could that motor be broken?

I see a small white connector not plugged anywhere. What is that connector for?

Is there a detailed user manual somewhere online showing all the ROBO printer's parts, i.e. each stepper motors part, etc.?

Stepper

2. Geof

Geof Volunteer Moderator
    Staff Member

Hi there. There is one motor that controls the x axis. It's on the right of the machine. Please check to make sure the wires are plugged in and on the left side is a x axis switch with 2 wires going to it. Please attach a photo of how its hooked up

Edit : the small white connector goes to that x axis motor (spoiler) :D

3. Stepper

Stepper New Member

Thank you for your help. Here some pictures:

1) Picture 7725: this picture should show the x-axis motor (as you indicated) and the white connector. I will look more carefully but I don't see where this connector would connect...