1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Anyone have experience with Palette+ ?

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by John Wohlfeil, Nov 14, 2017.

1. John Wohlfeil

John Wohlfeil Member

I just got the announcement for the Palette+ and its availability for use with Robo R2. Does anyone have any experience with the Palette? or Palette+ ? Or other multi-color options?

I am new to this and I've had my printer about 1 month (as of November 11, 2017), and I've been making tons of stuff. I have heard about the ability to add a 2nd extruder to the R2 and I was planning to get in on that once it became available. Then today, I saw the announcement from Robo about the Palette+, and now I want THAT !!!

2. WheresWaldo

WheresWaldo Volunteer ( ͠° ͟ʖ ͡°)
    Staff Member

I think @Toro1966 just ordered one, I am pretty sure @Geof played with the previous generation and was not impressed, but no experience with the Plus.

3. Geof

Geof Volunteer Moderator
    Staff Member

I had a pallete for a while (the original) after midwest reprap. If you are designing your own models and can do so in 4 seperate .stl files then its a very neat tool. I used it for a few large prototypes (imagine a transmission cut open with 3 different sets of colored drive trains for teaching) but aside from a couple prototypes I did I had no use for just 4 PLA colors. Now the Pallete + is multi material including PVA....that I am interested in both for my R2 and my large format machines, but haven't purchased one. Bit steep on the price for my to ROI right now. Hopefully they will come down. I've asked Robo to supply some photos of it on a R2 and pictures of prints up close so I can post them here. If I get them I will post them :D

edit- there are not alot of multicolor free files out there, thats why there is the statement of if you are designing your own and can do 4 seperate .stls that fit togather :D

John Wohlfeil likes this.