1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Unresolved Hardware error

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by capecodcharlie, Aug 16, 2016.

1. capecodcharlie

Hi Harry , got a message today from my RoBo 3 , ,,, Printer hardware error , your printer is reporting a hardware error , this may prevent your printer from functioning properly ,
    Error reported " EXTRUDER SWITCHED OFF MAX TEMP TRIGGERED "
    That what happened , any ideas ?.? Thanks in advance

2. Geof

Geof Volunteer Moderator
    Staff Member

Hi there. Im not Harry but id be happy to help. Max temp is usualky a thermistor issue. Please check your connections. The wires are very delicate and easily broken.

danzca6 likes this.
  3. capecodcharlie

Hi Geof , It said at the beginning to ask Harry , I don't know I'm new at this , , Thanks for your reply , I was looking over the connection and found the wire had pushed out if clip end I pushed in and got it to stay I'm pretty sure , but on the extruder temp it says 375 degrees but it's cold , I also tried to preheat the bed but it would not , any way to test the thermistor ?? What about the ceramic heater THATS the wire I found pushed out , your help is appreciated, Thanks

4. Geof

Geof Volunteer Moderator
    Staff Member

No problem at all :) welcome to the user forum. Id recheck the thermistor cartridge and wiring. It not reading room temp is typically

Bad wiring connection
    Bad thermistor
    Bad ramps board.

Can you share a photo of your wires and we can give thwm a lookover with you.

To check the thermistor itself you can unplug it and check with a multimeter if you have one. They are 100 ohm thermistors, as long as its close (95-100ish) you should be ok.

danzca6 likes this.
  5. capecodcharlie