1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Unresolved Print stops halfway, communications message that I can't figure out

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by aznhlfan, May 10, 2016.

1. aznhlfan

aznhlfan Active Member

I have a question about my Robo R1 Plus that I'm sure can be answered her. I am a newbie to 3D printing so I hope the solution is simple. I just purchased a Robo R1 plus and had an issue with the Arduino and Ramps. I skyped with Brian and he replaced the Arduino and ramps. I installed them, upgraded the firmware, but now it is stopping the print half way through. I checked the g code terminal and I am not getting an error message persay, but this is what I get:
    ->Communication state: Disconnecting
    ->Communication State: Disconnected
    Lost Communication to printer
    ->Communication State: Failed to connect
    ->Read thread has exited.
    I also noticed that it uses com 6 to connect instead of com 5 like it was and like my other Robo R1 Plus.
    What does this message mean and why did it switch com's?

2. Geof

Geof Volunteer Moderator
    Staff Member

You have to set the Comm your printer uses otherwise it will pick whatever one is open, also might want to check the baudrate. If had issues where the Robo would take whatever comm was open.. I had to shut down all the programs possible of using the USB ports then turn on the robo and plug in the cable. The other option to help with comm issues is a new cord and a powered hub. Might be worth checking out the LCD controller (www.printedsolid.com) their cheap, mostly plug and play and need no firmware work.

What did you upgrade your firmware for?

mark tomlinson likes this.
  3. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

I think he just reuploaded it due to replacing the hardware (but being certain is good).